GWAA Honors Adam Scott, Inbee Park & Kenny Perry

by Fredaltvater

2013 Masters Champion Adam Scott appears to be excited to have won the GWAA Male Player of the Year award.

Adam Scott was voted the Male Player of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America (GWAA). Scott’s four world-wide victories, including the 2013 Masters earned him the award by just five votes over Tiger Woods.

Even though Woods won five PGA Tour titles and was named PGA Tour Player of the Year, the GWAA gave extra credit for Scott’s wins late in the year.

Scott won both the Masters and The Barclays on the PGA Tour. He added two wins in Australia late in the year and teamed with Jason Day to win the World Cup for Australia at Royal Melbourne in November.  He finished off 2013 with a runner-up finish to Rory McIlroy at the Australian Open.

The vote was not nearly as close for Female Player of the Year as Inbee Park collected over 91 percent of the 220 votes cast. Park won six titles on the LPGA Tour in 2013 including the first three majors of the season.

She won the Kraft Nabisco in March and added the LPGA Championship and the U.S. Women’s Open in June. Under extreme media attention, she slipped to a T-42 finish in the Women’s British Open in July, but was the leading money earner on the LPGA Tour and was named LPGA Tour Player of the Year.

It was a historic year for the 25-year-old from South Korea. Only Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, Babe Zaharias and Tiger Woods have won three consecutive major titles in a single season.

Inbee Park won three women's major championships in 2013.

Park now has nine career LPGA Tour wins and moved past Stacy Lewis early in 2013 to assume the No. 1 spot on the Rolex Rankings.

Kenny Perry was named Senior Player of the Year by the GWAA. He demonstrated that he was finally able to win a major championship. Matter of fact he won two majors, the Senior Players Championship in June and the U.S. Senior Open in July on the Champions Tour in 2013.

Perry had previously struggled to finish off major championships finishing runner-up in the 1996 PGA Championship and the 2009 Masters.

The 2009 Masters was extremely painful as he made bogies at both the 17th and 18th holes in the final round on Sunday to lose.

Perry also won the AT&T Championship on the Champions Tour in October and won the Charles Schwab Cup.

He is 53 years old and has always been a late-bloomer. He won 11 of his 14 career PGA Tour victories after his 40th birthday.

All three of these players plus the top golf writers of 2013 will be recognized at the annual GWAA Awards Dinner held on Wednesday, April 9, in Augusta, Georgia.



Previous post:

Next post: